Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

woodwork questions

1002 Views 18 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  clipfed

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
1,833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Sorry, here are the questions

that go with the photos....I have a wood laminate stock on my 795 and want to replace that with a Marlin 989M2 stock which needs to be cut some to accomodate the LSHO lever and the 795 t/g. That may be easy for an experienced person but have not done that and first question is: What tools do I need to do this. I assume a dremel and attachments but what else? (Have never used a dremel but know I can learn.) The second question is: A big concern is just now realized that the barrel of a 795 is larger diameter than that of a 989M2 so thus barrel channel on the 989M2 stock and barrel channel on hand guard will be too small. Is there a reasonable way to neatly ream the channels out to accomodate a larger diameter barrel.. And bearing in mind I am a rank amateur. What are your thoughts on this. FYI..the darker walnut wood is the 989M2 which needs to be cut to be like the lighter wood laminate stock. See the photos.

· Registered
18,186 Posts
Opening the barrel channel is easy. The best and easiest way is to use deep well sockets and sandpaper. Just choose a socket that with the sandpaper wrapped around, it will open the channel to the proper size. You can even start small and work your way up. Choose one that will open the channel more than it is now, and work it all the way to the bottom, and work your way larger. Also keep the two sides as even as you can. You will eventually have to remove some from the bottom on your last sizing. Just start small and work your way up. No Dremel needed for the barrel channel.

· Registered
3,332 Posts