Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
I'm not the expert but here in my humble opinion

1. rifle and ammo price.
10/22 mag cost a lot more than 10/22 lr rifle. then the 22wmr ammo cost more than most plinker can stomach.

2. 22WMR advantage . most 22LR shooter don't think the WMR offer that much of advantage for what a 22LR usually shoot for (small animal , plinking etc)

3. 10/22 Magnum uses the same blowback design . but 10/22Mag has to use steel bolt that is twice as heavy and rumored (i can confirm) to have more QC problems.

again i'm no expert

·
Registered
1,458 Posts
I've always wondered why they stop making it as well, but I guess I could always get a CZ 512 (or some other pricier brand like the VQ one) if I really wanted one. Think, as mentioned above, WMR is one of those middle ground calibers and that demand is low because people either stick with LR or skip up to the .223, so, while I am interested in one, I can see why demand might be a reason. Still, I would have thought they would keep it and the .44 magnum as well, but, then again, I would love for them to make a .357 magnum version even more than both, lol

I still wonder if there was a mechanical reason, though, as other semi-autos exist.

·
Registered
886 Posts
It can't be the price of the ammo, folks are still buying the "other" semi auto 22 mags., like the Rem. 597M that i have.

My 597M is quite accurate and unlike the Ruger it doesn't have ejector and other parts flying out of it.

Those Rugers had some problems, like all the Ruger shotguns they also quit makeing!

DM

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
The official answer from Ruger was lackluster sales. It was manufactured for 9 years and only about 50,000 units sold. Compare this to over 5,000,000 sold of the 22 LR version.

Then there is the other assumed answer that the 22WMR was discontinued due to extraction issues and breaking bolts. We'll never know for certain most likely.

·
Registered
296 Posts