Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've seen a few threads on this, but let's ask again:

Who has bedded their 93R17 and has seen groups change because of it (good or bad)?

How did you do your bedding?

·
Registered
973 Posts
I have.

I used an Acraglass gel kit from Brownells to bed my 93R17FV.

Prior to bedding I had a lot of vertical stringing. 5 shot groups were about 1/4" wide and 1 1/2" to 2" tall.

After bedding it shoots fairly symetrical groups of abotu 3/4" at 100 yards.

·
Registered
22,250 Posts
VAFish -

Which posts did you bed? The ones the takedown screws fit into or the "pillars"? Or all of them?

Did you have to prepare the composite stock in any way to get it to accept the Acra-glas?

Did you by any chance take any pictures?

I'm likely going to end up bedding my 93FSS in .22 Mag just 'cuz I like to do it! But I've never done it to a Savage before or to a composite stock.

Thanks!
me!

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm curious as well, as the 93 doesn't seem to be well suited to bedding without some additional work. For example, one of the stock screws goes straight into wood and the recoil lug has upward pressure on it.

It seems as if it really needs a new set of pillars glassed into the stock as well, but I'm no expert.

·
Registered
973 Posts
me! said:
VAFish -

Which posts did you bed? The ones the takedown screws fit into or the "pillars"? Or all of them?

Did you have to prepare the composite stock in any way to get it to accept the Acra-glas?

Did you by any chance take any pictures?

I'm likely going to end up bedding my 93FSS in .22 Mag just 'cuz I like to do it! But I've never done it to a Savage before or to a composite stock.

Thanks!
me!
Bedded both take down screws and the recoil lug at the front of the action.

Had to drill holes and make under cuts the Acraglass Gel did no adhere to the stock.