Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A local shop I've been frequenting for many years has had a Remington 580 Smoothbore (could be wrong about the 580 part, but it IS a smoothbore for shotshells, and it IS in the 580 series) for at least 10 years.

I remember checking this rifle out for YEARS.. wondering if it would ever sell (it was wildly overpriced at $300 or something...). I got the impression that they'd bought it and overpaid and were sitting on it hoping to make their money back one day...

Anyway, a couple weeks ago I happened to be there and Rem 581's came up ( was actually looking for a left hand model..)... and I mentioned "that 580 smoothbore they'd had for years"... and he mentioned that they still had "that **** thing" in the back!!! He also intimated that offers would be gladly entertained...

So I'm wondering, as fodder for a rebarrel, what would this be worth "book value" wise? So I know what to offer...

I know what it's worth to ME... but if what it's worth to ME is drastically less than what it's worth on paper... well.. maybe in another ten years :D

Interested to hear your opinions!
Paul F.

·
Registered
2,955 Posts
Value of smoothbore 580

If a rebarrel is your only reason to buy the rifle,I would determine the cost of the rest of the conversion I was considering, without the cost of the 580 action. Comparing this figure to a comparably desirable weapon will allow you to see if it is financially sound. I bought a delicately used 581 two years ago for $125.00 at a gun show. For me, at least, I thought that was reasonable for a rifle that could possibly be rebarreled. I would be interested to know the selling price.

·
Registered
5,084 Posts
Rem 580 Smoothbore

Shyningnight,

Rem 580 Smoothbore: .22 LR Shot, bolt action, single shot, 24" barrel, open sights, Monte Carlo stock, Mfg'd. 1968 - 1978.

Some typical values: ["Blue Book of Gun Values", 20th Ed.]
100% = $225. [NIB]