Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this world of 10/22 building. I may be crazy and about start chasing rabbits, but I have decided to build a pair of 10/22s I have done a fair amount of reading old posts and am still confused about the subject. bed just the action...bed just the bbl...float the bbl...bed part of bbl and action....IM SO CONFUSED!! Many have said that the alum reciever is soft and isnt real good to free float a 18in bull bbl. off it. Many others say its fine. Is there a majority concensus on the subject, Im sure all combinations have there advantages. I "think" I have an understanding of the principles of forces at work and tecniques involved ans should be able to carry out these modifications. The site is great and Ive been having a blast reading the posts, Nicest internet community ive seen before.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
486 Posts
Different people suggest different things. I've heard to bed the reciever and 2" of bbl, but my gunsmithing book syas to bed the bbl. (6" or so) and free float the reciever because it is weak aluminum. You can freefloat a carbon fiber bbl or use an AMT or Aftermarket reciever made of a harder metal.

·
Registered
341 Posts
I would bed the barrel up to the balance point (without scope attached), which is about 2" or so past the receiver on most bull barrels. If you take the action out of the stock you can find the approximate balance point by trying to get it to rest across your finger.

This would keep the receiver from being stressed under its own weight, and plastic strain on the aluminum over time is probably the primary concern when it comes to bending things out of shape. The rest of the barrel can be free floated and doesn't need to touch the stock anywhere.