Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a Remington 597, and so far have been rather happy with it. However, I'd like to be able to get a scope for it. This is just going to be for plinking cans, bottles, targets, etc. I have a scope...a 4x15 I paid 7 bucks for at walmart. It's crap (mostly due to the x15 IMO). I figure a 3-9x40 would do the trick. Any recommendations for a decent (not great) scope for $70 or less? I've found the following....how good are they?

Simmons 3-9x40 for $35
Bushnell 3-9x32 Sportsman or $40
Bushnell 3-9x40 Sportsman for $60
Bushnell 4-12x40 Sportsman for $70

Not sure of the model of the simmons, I couldn't find it on their website. Guess the only other ones I've found at that price are the Bushnell Sportsmans....how good are they? Will they do the trick?

·
Registered
231 Posts
I like Busnnell scopes. I have been using several of them for many years. I bought a used, like new, Sportsman 4x12 AO off Ebay recently for $45 including shipping. It is mounted on my 10/22.
The optics are not as clear as more expensive scopes but not bad. Staring through it for long bench sessions does cause some eye fatigue. I don't think that it is as clear as the Bushnell 4x12 AO Sportview that I have on my Remington 581.
My 10/22 is sighted to be dead on with high velocity ammo at 25 yards and, logically, is almost dead on at 50 yards. Last weekend I moved the target to 100 yards and fired 10 shots which were centered, as you would expect, about 5 inches low. I moved the elevation adjustment up 20 clicks and fired several 10 shot groups which were now well centered on my point of aim. I moved the target back to 25 yards, moved the scope adjustment back down 20 clicks and was dead on again!
Not bad for a $45 scope!
:D
GHP

·
Registered
3,642 Posts
Avoid "DeerGetter" Scopes

scrabbledealer,