Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I purchased a stainless 1022 about a year ago. I have no experience gunsmithing or machining but would like to build the most accurate 1022 I can. I already did a trigger job and would like to get a good barrel / stock, but don't like the butler creek combo's you see in all the catalogs. I want to get a composite stock and heavy barrel, but do I need to free float / bed the barrel? Is it necessary for such a light round? If I do need to do this I would appreciate any advice on where to start.

also...don't want whatever barrel I get to make it picky with ammo

·
Registered
4,378 Posts
Bedding, barrel Floating

Dieseler said:
Check out the tips and tricks section. Then try a search for whatever you are still curious about, you'll come up with a ton of information.
First, Welcome to RFC, nice to meet you.

+1 for Dieseler post, Here's the best info on bedding that I've found: http://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95016.

You'll get differing opinions (even from the guys who have built many 1022's), about bedding and freefloating the barrel, but my .02 worth, based on much research and advice from those who are usually reliable, is that the bull barrel config works best floated at the muzzle end, but bedded for about the first couple of inches ahead of the receiver. That's how my first 1022 is done and I'm quite happy with the results so far (several < .25" groups at 50 yards, many groups in the teens at 25).

A couple of mistakes to avoid (remember, I'm new at this too :D : ) -
Do the bedding before finishing the stock, (first mistake I made)
Bed only one area of the receiver/barrel at a time, thus avoiding my second mistake of totally fuzing the stock and the action! I think the above sticky covers this. Bedding sequence for my second 1022 is going like this:
1. Bed the rear of the receiver/stock