Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Speedmaster 241 that shoots 22LR. It was my grandfathers. It's a nice little rifle, but it jams a lot. I doubt I can shoot more than three bullets without it jamming. Bullets are fed into the stock but they cannot make the final curve into the chamber. They miss the hole and get hung up.

I have cleaned it several times and oiled it, but I still cannot get the bullets to make the final transition into the hole. That guide had a lot of carbon buildup as it is difficult to clean the concave curve, but I have cleand that up.

The barrel reads 22-Long Rifle-Smokeless-Greased

I have tried a couple of different brands of bullets. Currently I have Remingtons 22LR.

The serial numbers on the barrel and reciever match, so the barrel isn't made for 22-LR with a mismatched reciever for 22-Shorts.

BTW, I have heard the jokes about semi-auto are really auto-jam, but I really wish I could get this thing to fire repeatedly. It's a nice little rifle and in great condition.

Can anyone help me?

·
Registered
6,255 Posts
Hmmm.........Is the long spring on the end of the inner magazine tube in good shape, or is it bent? Also is there spring pressure against the spring when you push it back into the brass tube? If these check out ok and it's not the follower, you may have to pull the outer magazine tube out and check it for burrs etc, and clean it well.

There are other things that may be causing your rifle to jam, such as a weak breech block spring or firing pin spring. Ensure that it has been cleaned well and try using some High velocity ammo.

·
Registered
2,448 Posts