Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to hunting...just taking it up this year to do something in the winter to complement my trout fishing in the spring and summer. I want to start with rabbit hunting, because it shouldn't require too much in terms of equipment, it's something I can do relatively locally (I'm in upstate NY), and because it would provide some good eating!

I've been researching hunting and dressing techniques, procedures, and NYS licensing issues. But I'm really hung up on the choice of gun...or rather, the choice of caliber - .17HMR vs .22LR. I've read some really great things about the .17HMR, but it seems that the consensus is that it's more effective as a varmint load, rather than as a small game load.

Given the fact that I'm hunting for meat, and that I'll be doing more short-range shooting in wooded areas, rather than long-range shooting in the open...what would you suggest?

Thanks
Ed

PS: I'm also narrowing my rifle choice to a bolt-action, 20-22" barrel with scope...fyi.

·
8,025 Posts
I can't believe that...

No one has mentioned the 17 Mach2. Shoots like a laser beam and doesn't tear up the meat like the HMR does, but it is definitely more expensive than a .22 rimfire. Oh and welcome to RFC. :t God Bless, Frank.

·
Premium Member
3,416 Posts
where in Upstate NY? im in sodus (wayne county). I would go with a .22lr or short if distances allow, and gun is accurate. I havnt yet got out to hunt lil critters but i think i may this fall if i can convince a guy i work with to take me on the property he has permission to be on (obviously ill make sure i can be out there as well) 17hmr has WAY too much energy for small game unless your taking 100+ yard shots. i believe squirrels in hunting conditions are normally taken under 50 yards. at least i wouldnt want to have to shoot any further!

·
Registered
1,364 Posts