Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have installed my first Bughole Tuner and I am leary that it will stay in adjustment. The attenuation screw moves easily and I am afraid that in time with vibration and heat / cool cycles it will creep out of setting. I do not want to use locktite for a number of reasons but is there another way to induce a constant drag on the screw so that it can be moved but that it will stay where you set it? A nylok nut on a bolt accomplishes this but this is almost the opposite situation. Am I trying to remidy a problem that does not exist?
Thanks

·
Registered
215 Posts
The "sweet spot" in the BugHole tension may be different with each brand/type of ammo. I'm not an expert, but it may also depend on other factors such as humidity or temperature. For these reasons, I do not think it is advisable to "lock" the setting at any one place. In fact, I think that it would kind-of defeat the whole purpose of the device.

Having said that, I have (sort-of) found a "sweet spot" in my BugHole at about 1/4 turn beyond "just touching" with WMT in my Boyd's Ross and 20" GM barrel. I re-check the adjustment every 50-100 rounds but it doesn't seem to move much due to vibration.

Ohcsim

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ohcsim,
Thanks, I think I understand that I will need to make changes to the setting for each ammo type and for extreams in weather, that is why the Locktite route does not make sense to me either. I work with machinery a good deal and I'm leary of the screw being so easy to rotate, I wish I knew of a way to - as I said, induce drag - so the screw would not change setting on its' own. I could peen or otherwise deform a small portion of a thread but I would rather not do this as with time it will destroy the threads and make for a looser fit. It is good to hear that you do not find the need to recalibrete often.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Locking Set Screws