Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone Im new to rimfire and I live in Australia. Want to get in some cheap shooting, for accurate hunting and relaxed target stuff without the cost of centerfire ammo.

Ive never owned a rimfire but know centerfires.

Im trying to decide between my short list;

1. Sako Finnfire Varmint
2. CZ Varmint

The Sako has a floating barrell. Its also about $AUS350 more than the CZ. The money isnt a big issue for a lifetime rifle.

What are the tangible differences? Am I getting into toss value associated with a certain brand, or tangible differences?

The SSAA had a review where the Sako was the most accurate. Sako have a good reputation.

Thoughts?

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Hi Mate ,

I would say if money is not a problem , then get the Sako Finnfire , they are a realy great gun , I have the Hunter version and use it usually with a silencer ( I live in NZ , where silencer's are not restricted ) .
The main point's on the Finnfire for me are the following ,

1, Free floating barrel

2, Barrel change is easy , done with a allen key, spare barrels are easily fitted by the shooter.

3, Very well made, std for any Sako

4, Has a seperate bolt release , which makes it easier to make a good trigger design , as the trigger serves only one function , ie being a trigger. Most rimfire rifles use the trigger to serve 2 functions , trigger & bolt release.

5, Very accurate right from the box

The CZ is also a very good gun , it is not free floated , spare mags are cheaper , also the CZ mag's are available in ( 5,10,15 rd) in Aussie.
The Sako has 5 & 10 rd mags available.

You have narrowed your choice down to the top 2 bolt action rimfire's that are readily available, either will serve you well.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Bathrone