Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the local gun shop today, I ran across a couple of pistols I'm just beginning to get interested in.

1. Blued Mk I, 6 7/8" target barrel, and thumbrest wood grips, NIB with all the original paperwork and the original cardboard box with metal re-inforcements on the corners. He wants $350 for it.

2. Blued Mk II, 6 7/8" barrel, hard rubber grips, NIB with all paperwork and plastic box/case. He wants $300 for this one.

Having very little knowledge of these pistols, I figured I'd see what some of you folks had to say.

Thanks, Jay

·
Registered
686 Posts
If the Mark II is a Government Model get this.

Does it have a factory test target in the box? I know the early Blue 6 7/8" Government Target Mark II yellow box ones around 1985 - 1987 did have a factory test target in the box. These used a special chamber much like the 10/22Ts somewhere between the sporter and Bentz with a 32 oz trigger pull. I also Bought a Mark I 6 7/8 Target new many years ago it shoots good also, but nothing like the Early blue 6 7/8 Government Mark IIs.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK, let me ask a pointed question.......

Which one would you buy?

I can get either pistol. I just don't know if one is more..... accurate, reliable, trouble free, and like that. I don't need a collectable, I want a shooter.

Thanks, Jay

·
Registered
84 Posts
I have the MK1 tappered barrel target model and a MK2 5.5" bull barrel. They are both great shooters, however the MK2 is the best 22 for the money they have built. $175 for the MK1 is plenty, look around for a NIB MK2 5.5" bull no more than $425. Used one can be found, I picked up mine 3 months ago.
Jim

·
Registered
1,608 Posts