Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to rimfire rifles and I am looking for the best bang for my buck. I am concidering either the Remington 597 or the Ruger 10/22. I would maybe like to someday build one of these up, but for now just something to go shoot. Which one is more accurate and more reliable?? I have read about the Remington having magazine problems, and I have also read about people not liking the trigger on the ruger. I don't have any real time shooting rifles, just shotguns. Will someone please give me a good non bias answer?

·
Registered
668 Posts
WELCOME TO RFC!!!

i would go with the ruger hands down. you wrote you might want to build up the rifle after a while...sorry to say the rem 597 has next to no upgrades but the ruger is endless in upgrades. the ruger is extremly reliable too! before making mine an ultimate i put over 1000 rounds thru it with no cleaning and very shot was accurate and the gun functioned without jam, misfires or faluires to eject! these guns are extemly simple in design whicj makes them so very easy to clean once it is needed. you are correct about the trigger...it sucks but can be fixed yourself for 30 dollars (about 2.5 lbs pull) or sent away and fixed for 80 dollars (also about 2 lbs but a much better smoother job). i promise you will not be dissappointed with a 10/22. i know of no one that got a 10/22 and wished they got something else in the 22 catagory!

·
Registered
103 Posts
yup