Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to all, adn please bear with me i'm a bit new at all this. (never had to think about fixing a gun before)

i recently had the 10/22 i first learned to shoot with passed down to me by my father. the gun is at least 30 years old maybe more. and i now have a few questions.

first off what are teh symptoms of the recoil spring wearing out?? during my last trip to teh range i started noticing that the sound of the action cycling was a slight bit more "harsh" than i'm used to, and there have been a number of FTFs and stovepipes during the past few range visits. and i'm begining to suspect that after 30 years that the spring is giving up the ghost.

if this is as i fear the case. my intention is to buy the whole a assembly (don't even know if it comes as just the spring). is there any reason to NOT buy the standard factory replacement part version? are their other brands that give a better "service life" , smoother operation, etc. keep in mind that the gun in question is NOT a match rifle, just a simple plinker that has been part of my life for longer than i can remember.

any info or advice is apreciated gents :)

thank you

·
Registered
702 Posts
I do a lot of 10-22 work and have never seen a spring wear out as you suggest. FTF could be caused by faulty ammo that does not have primimg compound completely around the rim and you hit a "dead" spot, dirt and grime not letting the bullet get all the way seated inn the chamber and a bad firing pin are a few things. I would get a Volquartsen extractor and that should stop your stovepipes. Clean the gun, esp the bolt face and the ext slot in the bbl, make sure that the ext is working properly in the bolt and is not full of dirt and grime and that you do not have a damaged firing pin and you might want to try different brands of ammo and see if the problem persists. Best,

·
Registered
1,528 Posts