Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and have a question about mounting an older 5092 with bolt-lock safety to a rifle not originally equipped for it. My rifle is a 2002 model which originally came with a 5103 trigger. I traded this for a 5092 from a 1977 model. I would actually prefer to keep this feature, which would require drilling next to the lug bearing surface. Is this ill-advised?

Thanks,

Chris in Norway

Attachments

·
Registered
4,635 Posts
Chris,

I would be worried that drilling into the bolt handle could compromise the hardness of the locking surface (with subsequent damage, and increase in headspace). I'm not an engineer/machinist/metallurgist though. So I'd want someone who knows this stuff to check the hardness of the lug, and give me a professional opinion on the heating effect of drilling, and whether the handle needs to be rehardened afterwards.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Chris,

I would be worried that drilling into the bolt handle could compromise the hardness of the locking surface (with subsequent damage, and increase in headspace). I'm not an engineer/machinist/metallurgist though. So I'd want someone who knows this stuff to check the hardness of the lug, and give me a professional opinion on the heating effect of drilling, and whether the handle needs to be rehardened afterwards.
I can probably borrow a portable tester from a friend but if anyone has gone down this road before I'd love to hear the good, bad and ugly of it. The handle appears soldered on, possibly another consideration.

Chris

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Drilling the hole was no problem. I made a funnel-like (slightly oversize) pilot with a diamond ball bit and finished with a 3mm cobalt bit on a drill press. Safety engages no matter whether the handle is fully down or slightly off its seat.