Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would appreciate some suggestions regarding .22 auto pistols. I already own a Mk II and a Buck Mark Field. They are awesome pistols, each has their advantages and disadvantages.

I would like to try something a little different this time around (tax refund coming). I've been considering the Trailslide (hammerli, I think?) or the offering from EAA. I have no experience with either. I've heard both good and bad about both.

Thanks for the suggestions.

steve

·
Registered
1,984 Posts
I have one of the Target Trailsides with 6" barrel and target sights. It'll shoot 1/2" groups with Lapau Midas M at 25 yards of sandbags with a red dot sight on it. The test target is one hole at 25 meters!!! The magazines are hard to come by I hear and they're expensive--but these things shoot. The pistol is very light--I like a heavy High Standard better--but that's just me--the SIG has the accuracy if you can hold it still--and it has a very good trigger.

·
Registered
1,984 Posts
I have only seen three, and my brother and myself own two of them. I saw the other at a Gun Show in Charlotte, N.C. about two years ago. I've seen them advertised in Gun List--but you just don't see many of 'em for some reason--mayber the price--I paid 475.00 for my target w/--6" barrel. That was the only 6" I'd seen or seen since--my brother's is the 4" barrel.

·
Registered
645 Posts
I have a lot of fun with my S&W 617 10 shot revolver.
I shoot a little slower when I'm using it.
Nice to shoot but the weight of it gets to me after awhile.

·
Registered
518 Posts
OnTarget said:
The trailside is made by SIG.
Yep, sure 'nuff. But Hammerli was involved in the base design. So, you both were correct.

Have you considered a S&W 41? A bid spendy, but a tremendously accurate pistol, finely crafted, great trigger.

Zirc

·
Registered
60 Posts