Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
- First Post...(this is a great forum!)

This forum (as you know) is going to hurt me and all my money. My dad told me about this site and now I need a .22 and a lot of money for mods. ;)

Alright, well I'm 15 and I'm not a big gun enthusiast. My father and I go down to the range every other weekend now. I'm a pianist (as you can tell by my user name) but my father has gotten me into guns now. I've got a small amount money, but I feel I'm going to be going down the 'do it yourself' road (which will of course cost me a larger chunk of mulah). I'm trying to build an all-round rifle.

I guess it's blueprinting time though, I'm trying to only have one 10/22 and slowly build it up over time (which could be a few months before the first parts), but in the end have something I'll like for a long long time. Of all I've read so far, the only thing I'm pretty sure of as being must haves or the bests are...(say anything to contradict)

(Not including anything such as shipping or tax)
Brand New 10/22 Carbine - $159.99
Kid Two-Stage Match Trigger (Standard Curved) - $279.99 (Expensive!!)
Ten22 ShockStop Bolt Buffer - $5.95
Ruger 40th Anniversary Clear Factory Rotary Magazine - $16.95

Optic Options: (?)
I'm pretty sure I'm putting a scope on it. Would a Weaver or VCL scope mount work great? On to the scope, the Nikon Prostaff 3-9X40 is a pretty good scope for a 'bang for the buck' sort of thing (which has gotten me pretty interested). My dad got one and I have to admit it's pretty nice. But, is Leupold better? When I mean better, I mean worth the extra money to the point of being a lot better.

Barrel Options: (?)
Not sure about this yet, not going down the suppressor path. I know WhistlePig has got some pretty nice looking fluted barrels. Volkquartsen has some nice (but more expensive) barrels too though.

Stock Options: (?)