Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

MeoPro Optika5 4-20x44 SFP: Ok for Silhouette?

3K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  dbr65 
#1 ·
Hi,
I'm a silhouette newb and need a scope. The Meopta MeoPro Optika5 4-20x44 SFP (with Z-plus reticle) seems on the surface to have what I need: 10 yard minimum focus, 1/4 moa knobs and large moa dot reticle. (Meopta doesn't say the moa of the dot). The scope is new to the market and so there is little or no buyer feedback at the sites selling the scope. Is anyone here familiar with Meopta Optika5 scopes?

Thanks,
Lloyd

#2 ·
Hi,
I'm a silhouette newb and need a scope. The Meopta MeoPro Optika5 4-20x44 SFP (with Z-plus reticle) seems on the surface to have what I need: 10 yard minimum focus, 1/4 moa knobs and large moa dot reticle. (Meopta doesn't say the moa of the dot). The scope is new to the market and so there is little or no buyer feedback at the sites selling the scope. Is anyone here familiar with Meopta Optika5 scopes?

Thanks,
Lloyd
I looked up that scope, their website isn't very informative. The reticle looks very buisy which I would find very distracting.
If you hurry you can find one of the discontinued Leupold VX3i 6.5-20X, the reticle can be changed to a dot although I hear it can take months. This country needs another scope repair/mod shop.
Silhouette specific scopes are a problem since Leupold bailed on the target/custom market. You almost have to wait for a Silhouette shooter to die to find a good Silhouette scope.

#3 ·
Motovita,
I'd buy a Leupold VX3i 6.5-20 and have the reticle changed, but the Leupold custom shop is closed indefinitely. Like you say, it does seem like someone will have to die first to score one of the better scopes.
The Meopta has the virtue of being relatively inexpensive, but I don't know about the optical quality.

#6 ·