Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm aware that there is a serial # guide regarding the date of manufacture. The serial number is "different" than anything referd to in the guide-the serial # gun is 103991T8 it appears to be '68 am I correct. This is a fine pistol to shoot, I go out and bang away with my S&W Mdl 19, when I've had enough of close but no cigar I pick up the Medalist and it gives a guy some bragging rights.

·
Registered
171 Posts
I think you are correct on your decoding of your serial number but I am no expert on these. I asked the same question about the medalist I just bought.

I am waiting the 10 days before I can bring my new baby home. It has been 30 years since I experienced a friends Medalist and I have always compared everythingelse to that Medalist. I have a Ruger Mark II w/ 2X Leupold on it and I always have longed for the Medalist every time I pick up the Ruger. I am very anxious to conduct a head to head comparison but I think I already know the outcome.

Can you say "austa-la-bye bye" Ruger???? Before anybody asks, I already have a new home in mind for the Ruger. Every year on my son's birthday I open the gun safe and usually tell him to take his pick, well this year I am picking and he gets the Ruger Mark II and a new blade from Gene Ingram that I have on order for him. I know I am spoiling him but life's a ***** and then you die or so they say.

Also, I am not open to adopting anybody wanting to get in my gun safe or will so don't bother asking.

That's my story and I am sticking to it.

Dave

·
Premium Member
30,720 Posts
The product code for the Medalist is "T", "U" for the Challenger and "P" for the Nomad. The number listed in the first post will indicate the year of 1962 thru 1968. 1969 started a new code in which the last two digits were the year. Since these guns ended production in 1974 it is easy to determine which year they were made.

·
Registered