Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI folks, as there are so many cool people in the CZ section ...hehe ( and all of rimfire of course ) i was in need of some advice on scope selection....
My supposed rifle will be an Anschutz 64MPR...or CZ Varmint 453 and need a scope for benchrest comp....
I have reasonable eyesight ( when sober ) and shoot out to 90 yards and as low as 20 yards...
I am relatively new to Bench , and it seems everyone uses
36 X scopes... do i need that ?
Also , would like to suss out some cheaper options than say a leupold or Nightforce.... if i update the scope i get first , it can go on my .222 Fox BRNO..
Thanks people....
Anthony

·
Premium Member
58,674 Posts
Plus one for the Weaver and I believe Sightron makes a 36x also, I have shot several rifles with the Weaver 36x on them and know them to be very good scopes.

Gerald

Double checked Sightron does make a 24x and 36x !

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
I would take a look at the Weaver T-36
check down in the classifieds you might be able to score a deal

·
Registered
1,631 Posts
I have two Weavers and I like them both a lot....

one thing you might want to consider though. The 36 power scopes everyone is suggesting are fixed power scopes. If you are shooting at very short range too, as you indicate in your post, you might want to consider sacrificing a little power by dropping down to a 24X variable. A 36X is great as a dedicated benchrest gun where you shoot at the same distance all the time, but it might be too much for 20 yard shooting. Perhaps a Weaver V series, 6-24 might better suit your purposes.

·
Premium Member
3,502 Posts
I tried with a Weaver 4-16X, then a Leupold 6.5-20X, and now I have a Weaver T36. There's something reassuring about being able to aim in "1/4 bullet-diameter" increments.

With that reassurance comes the realization that your heart is beating too--

·
Registered
665 Posts