Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
I've never used one before, but from what I've seen on here they're not the best. If you get lucky and get a good one, they're ok. IIRC they're actually a steel liner wrapped in plastic and have a bad habit of not being straight. If you want a CF barrel, try a VQ THM. Or if money is an issue, take a look at some of WFMB barrels, the best value for the money.

WFMB

·
Registered
196 Posts
Take it from me. I bought a carbon barrel combo with a synthetic stock. The look and weight are exceptional, except the one very important thing, accuracy. The barrel did a bang left, bang right, and I can never group them. Therefore, I called Butler Creek and they were very nice about it and replaced it with another one but the problem was the same. I finally paid $20 more to get the flutted steel version. I have not try the steel barrel yet, hopefully it will be sunny soon so I can try it out.

·
Registered
957 Posts
The Volquartsen and Magnum Research carbon fiber/graphite barrels are "tensioned:" tightly bound with fibers to assure strength and stiffness.

Not the Butler Creek. It is just "sleeved" with a carbon fiber (?) outer layer.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Please listen to the experience posted here. The price and description of the Butler Creek "carbon fiber" tensioned barrel makes it look very enticing.