Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about my first 10-22. I'm most interested in target shooting as advancing years make pistol work more difficult. My questions are: is the 10-22 target version worth the extra money? What scope is best for the money figuring 50 yard target work? Thanks,
Charlie

·
Registered
551 Posts

I have no first hand experience with the target model, but some people say they are worth the extra money. What I did, after what I heard and read, I decided to upgrade my standard 10-22 with volquartsen hammer, recoil buffer, and auto bolt release. Then I bought a green mountain barrel and revival stock. I now have more in it than if I had just bought a target model, but I am pleased. I would recommend the Nikon 4X rimfire scope they stock behind the case at Wal-Mart for $99. It has a 50 yard parallax setting and 4" of eye relief. I think it is a good deal.

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Scopes: I recommend the Simmons WTC18. $99+ shipping from SWFA (a sponsor of rimfirecentral) for a 6.5-20 scope is a great deal, even better when you see it is a good quality piece of optics too. I just picked up my second one.

Paul

·
Registered
668 Posts
personally i would buy the cheapest version of the 10/22 and rebuild it! there are countless mods you can do to these guns and it is half the fun! i have a hogue overmolded stock, green mountain (gm) barrel, volquartsen (vq) hammer kit, weaver to-9 scope base, and simmons 22mag 4x scope. i shoot really well with that setup, but it is a huntin rig not for the bench IMO. i would suggest a different stock than hogue for bench shooting and a better scope for bench shooting. search around here for a while and you will find great advise for mods for your type of shooting.

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
Welcome to RFC!

CharlieK,