Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am buying a Savage Mark II F next friday, and it is NOT drilled and tapped for bases, it only has dovetail grooves. But a lot of the airguns I have had and even my Marlin 60 would always seem to move dovetale bases over time. I really love the Weaver and picatinny style bases. I know there are bases that mount the dovetail to make it weaver, but are there any that would shallow out around the ejection port?? Basically whats the best dovetail to weaver base or even one peice scope bases I could get for this savage for under $30.

·
Registered
18,731 Posts
I've been shooting for over 30 years and have never had a dovetail ring come loose. Gte a good set of plain ole dovetail tip off rings and be done with it. Your just adding more pieces to your scope set up that you do not need. Get Burris or Leupold rings. If YOU put them on right, they will not move on you.

·
Registered
5,501 Posts
Brandon,
As always, Gizzy offers good advice. The KISS principle is best.

In addition to what he said, you might consider investing in, or borrowing, a torque screw driver, and torque all screws down to at least 20 in-lbs. Many people are happy with the Fat Wrench. In the past, I have babied the scope screws when tightening, only to have them loosen under use. Since getting a torque wrench, this problem has not reoccurred and tipoff rings stay in place. Good luck to you.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Registered
187 Posts
Unless your mounting a huge honker of a scope, those mounts will make it ride pretty high. The cheap price makes me think soft metal and crappy threads that will strip easy ( except BKL, very good stuff). As was mentioned, good quality Burris, Leupold and yes, even Millet angle locks will mount very secure. I also use the two piece dovetail to weaver adapters on problem receivers.