Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I recently purchased a new in the box Ruger 10/22 and I'm looking forward to doing an Ultimate conversion on it. I have some basic questions.

Barrel Length: What is the best all around length for target shooting and long range plinking? But I also want to be able to backpack with it.

All the tid bits I keep hearning about, extractors, Bolts, polishing, etc. Are these needed, what is the improvement over stock? The extended magazine release is totally undertandable.

Building. I'm a total novice. Can I put together at least the barrel and stock without trouble?

Scpoe rails, where do I purchase a good scope rail for the gun?

Thanks for answering my questions, great site and I look forward to finishing my project.

Thanks,
T

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
Hello and Welcome.

You will get all kinds of replies here, reflecting the experience and preferences of the group. In the end, you will want to decide what seems best for you. Honestly, I think whatever you do you will be happy with.

Lots of people are pretty happy with the rifle right out of the box. Most will do at least a few tweaks, because they are easy and fairly cheap. Others pull out the stops.

If you are even sorta handy you can do everything yourself. The 10/22 is pretty simple. You will be a pro in a short time, don't worry about it at all.

I suggest you spend some time looking at the gallery, the 'stickies' in each forum and the tips and tricks. This will teach you a LOT.

Take a look at the manual for your rifle and the pictures of the internals. Look around inside before you take it apart. Just go slow and you will have the hang of it in minutes. The barrel is easy too, though intimidating only at first. The scope base screws right on.