Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ok, so, i got bit by the 10/22 bug, i can deal with that (not sure about the Mrs. though). i got a used one for $99 with the laminated stock, works well i guess. I just ordered a Volquortezn (sp?) bolt buffer & Clerke 16" BBL from clips & stuff because of the price. now, i've been reading here about some problems and i'm a little paraniod about doing any work now. The problems i've seen here include : broken V-Blocks, stripped V-block screw holes, cracked recievers and other various tales of woe.

Now, should i NOT free float my 16" BBL for fear of cracking the reciever? If not, im not good at serious stock work, i.e: bedding the barrel. i know to sand out the barrel channel with a 1" dowel & sand paper, however, if i have to support the barrel i was thinking of this: Lay down a layer of fiberglass resin (catalyzed)about 1" back from the end of the stock and for about 4 inches back from that. then I would wrap the barrel in saran wrap. I would then place the action & barrel assembly into the stock using the saran wrap to protect the barrel and leave it till the resin was hard. Would this work ok to support the barrel?

Also, I'm worried about stripping the V- block screws, any advice on propper tightening? other than dont over-tighten it i mean :smashfrea
Thanks in advance! -Eric :snipersmi - :bunny:

·
Registered
28 Posts