Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received my new VQ barrels for both guns... and they come with a tag saying to not use a barrel brush... what gives? I am a newbie to the "Ultimate" scene, but have been a long time shooter and a gunshop employee... never heard of this.... :confused:

·
Banned
5,934 Posts
Yep, that is something that Volquartsen and I don't agree on. They say if you use a brush it voids their warranty on the barrel. I say that is hogwash. Not only are they wrong, but that to me is senseless. All good barrels need a good brushing every now and then. I use one on my Cooper which has a Wilson Arms barrel and Cooper's manual even says to use nylon or brass brush.

Brad

·
37,366 Posts
I have three centerfires that consistantly shoot around 1/2" @ 100. I've owned all three for many years and they get cleaned with a brush EVERY time they get shot. Having said that if I owned a VQ barrel that carried that warning I would follow it. I would have to think they have their reasons for such a warning. I just worry that they do it because they don't trust us to properly use a rod and brush. With the Otis system you can brush the barrel with out even using a rod. Maybe they are just trying to protect us from ourselves as it were :rolleyes: Remember that most of their barrels end up on 10/22 or their clones that are usually cleaned from the muzzle and many barrels have been ruined by misuse of RODS cleaning from the muzzle.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Vincent said:
Remember that most of their barrels end up on 10/22 or their clones that are usually cleaned from the muzzle and many barrels have been ruined by misuse of RODS cleaning from the muzzle.