Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I plan on buying a Cooper LVT, but am having a tough time deciding between the 17 HMR and the 17HM2. As I already have a 54-18 Annie, I'm set on the 17 rather than the 22 with my primary use being punching paper out to/beyond 100 yards, hense the 17 rather than another 22. I have had some experience with the 17HMR but know virtually nothing about the HM2. Is there any advantages or disadvantages of one over the other in accuracy at 100-150 yd. ranges. Also, what are the opinions as to whether the 17HM2 has long term staying power as a cartridge (don't want to end up with an expensive piece of wood if I go with the 17HM2). I like the difference in ammo cost of the HM2 over the HMR, but does one lose anything in the bargain. Any real world experiences with both in comparison would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

· Banned
4,250 Posts
I'll give you my advice and input that I have seen and heard thus far. The 17HM2 will shoot on average just as good as its bigger brother the 17HMR at 50yds. At 100yds. or farther the accuracy advantage swings back in favor to the 17HMR due to its faster velocity.

If I didn't have any 17's, and I wasn't going to get my first, I myself would go with the 17HMR. If you like it, which is a no brainer by the way, then you can always buy the 17HM2 later.

Brad

· Registered
4,258 Posts
brad541thb said:
I'll give you my advice and input that I have seen and heard thus far. The 17HM2 will shoot on average just as good as its bigger brother the 17HMR at 50yds. At 100yds. or farther the accuracy advantage swings back in favor to the 17HMR due to its faster velocity.
Brad
I would have to agree with that. My Cooper LVT 17HM2 and Annie 1717 shoot about the same at 50 yards, ie, they are capable of mostly single hole groups if I can do my part. The 1717 does seem to have the edge at 100 yards for me so far. But I am by no means an expert shot. ;)