Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

cz trainer--shorten/thread barrel

486 7
hi everyone,
i am new to the cz world. i just got a deal on a used cz trainer. i am thinking of having the barrel shortened, reinstalling the front site and having the barrel threaded for a suppressor (with protective cap). does this make sense? who would you recommend and what would i expect to pay?

any thoughts/experiences would be appreciated.
:harry:
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
8,623 Posts
If you shorten the barrel you want be able to reinstall the front site unless you cut the band portion off and DT it.

Don't know who would do the work for you and don't expect it would be cheap.

You can check with High Desert Dog they may do it.

Click here!

· Registered
2,739 Posts
A couple of weeks ago I would have said it's a good plan, but.....
Since then I have bought an American with a 20 inch threaded barrel to go with my 16 inch threaded Silhouette, and I now prefer the longer barrel.
It just seems to 'point' better, and provided you pick a light weight moderator, it does not seem to affect the balance.
I am useing a very light "delrin" moderator on the American, called "The Sound Biter"
Seems to work well enough, and the point of impact is not affected by it, I can shoot with or without it with no ned to re-zero.

Neil. :)

· Registered
10 Posts
It sure seems like gun weight and pointability are pretty subjective. I really like how my 452 with the 16" barrel and a 2.5oz can points. Find it goes up quick and theoretically the barrel is stiffer and should be more accurate or at least be more consistent. I am getting regular .5 5 shot groups at 50 yards both suppressed and un-suppressed.

Boils down to personal taste. I like both the look and feel of the 452 with the shorter barrel.