Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, first of all, i'm new to the forums, so hello to all, heh. I live in Wisconsin and currently only have two rimfire rifles, though i may soon expand on the collection. I have a Ruger 10/22 that was my grandpa's, so i don't do much to it, it's there just for sentimental value. My other rimfire rifle is my Remington 572 pump. I know it's not Anschutz, but let me explain the situation.

Ok, i've had my 572 for about 5 years, it hasn't really been used until the last year or two. The gun has a tasco 2-7x scope on it, again, not a schmidt and bender, but it used to work. So, i started shooting this rifle for accuracy. I fire from the prone position and use a sandbag for support. I shoot at about 75 yards, and the gun used to pretty consistently group about an inch with a variety of ammo. The scope was working well, the click adjustments would yield consistent results, everything was working the way it was supposed to.

All of a sudden the gun started shooting crappy, i figured, hey, maybe it needs to be cleaned. So i cleaned it, VERY thoroughly. Thought it was all good, but i went to shoot, it was still shooting crappy. I'm talking grouping maybe 6 inches opposed to the inch it used to group. Then i read that after a barrel is cleaned, sometimes you need to run some rounds through it before it will get back to shooting well. Well, i ran about 100 rounds of normal lead rounds through it, didn't work. I tried some of the Eley stuff, still shot like crap with it.

Then i read that sometimes after you clean a gun very well and get all of the copper out of it, you need to shoot some copper rounds through it to get it back to shooting well. Well i bought some Federal Copper Plated ammo, ran 50 through it, still shoots crappy.