Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the range yesterday with a few of my coopers, 17 FB, 22-250 and 221FB. Nice calm day. Snuck away from work. Friggin cell phone would not stop ringing. Anyway while trying different loads and overall lenghs for my 22-250, I started shooting 5 shot groups. The first batch was with H380 powder, Sierra 53gr match with an OAL of 2.41. First group...4 shots all touching, then the dreaded flyer. Then it happened, 2nd group, 1 shot, 2nd shot same hole, 3rd shot same hole, Ok Ive done this before, no big deal. Then 4th shot same hole. Now my hearts pumpin big time. 5th shot I always screw up with a flyer, never fails. OK, so now I try and relax, take my time, aim and squeeze the trigger, son-of-a-beyotch, 5th shot goes into the same hole. Never have I ever done that , 5 shots same hole a 100 yards, thats right 5 shots, none of those girls scout 3 shot groups, 5 shots. I have to take a picture and post it. The picture is no problem and putting it in photobucket is no problem, its just that I cant for the life of me attach a picture to a post on this forum.
Anyway its true what they say, you have to find the right exact round for the gun. All other groups after that were exceptional, but not one holers, I mean one friggin hole. Sorry, I'm very excited. I'm going to frame that target.

·
Registered
2,611 Posts
One hole

Thats some good shooting. It`s nice when it all comes together after a lot of trial and error. The one holer 5 shots are the toughest, three shots are rather common. :bthumb:
I had a Rem. mod 722 in .222 Rem that would do that most all the time if I done my part. Home rolled ammo or a select few factory rounds were it`s food. :D
SmallCal :Blasting_

·
Registered
426 Posts
Congradulations Dlong !