Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm really new to shooting altogether. My uncle got me interested and not but a few weeks later I've saved up and bought my very own 10/22. After doing a bit of reading it seemed like a very good choice for a first rifle. Anyway, my question is, what ammo do you seasoned shooters recommend for it? First time I used Winchester Super X's, but the weapon didn't always eject the brass well when I was using them. When I switched to my uncle's rounds, which I know were of the brand Blazer, it stopped doing that, which makes me think it was the Winchester rounds. Not sure though. So are there any particular rounds that come well recommended?

·
Registered
366 Posts
Did you give the rifle a good cleaning? Whether it is new or used, a good cleaning may help it be more reliable. Most .22s are somewhat picky about what ammo they like and what they don't, especially some autoloaders. The older Blazer ammo seemed to have its share of complainers, but the stuff I have gotten in the last couple of years has been a good performer in all my rimfires. Very consistent ammo, if not the most accurate. Some folks have had good luck with the Federal bulk pack from Walmart. It worked ok in the 10/22s I had. I also had good luck with the Winchester Super Xs, so maybe a cleaning of your gun or a different lot would work. CCI Mini Mags also worked very well in my 10/22s, and were pretty accurate. Some other folks will be along shortly to tell you what their pet loads are too. Welcome to the forum, its a nice place here.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll try that too. I didn't clean it yet, because the rifle is brand new. I'll take that advice though. I think it could've been a bad lot too, because I ran through about three boxes total and I didn't have as much trouble while firing the second two. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
148 Posts