Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I am still learning and I need some help.

I tried to go really cheap, and its not working. I used plain old canvas sand bags with play sand, and while I was trying to zero my savage, I realized my rifle was sinking lower as the vibration caused the sand to settle. :( I could add different media or stuff them more, but then I am lugging around a bunch of bags.

I am also a gluten for punishment, so next weekend I am entering a local BR tournament. There is nothing to win except a plastic trophy, so I figured a good place to start.

After asking at two of the LGS, they pretty much told me to buy online because they don't want to carry/stock the various necessary items. :( None of them even had empty bags.

How good/bad of a setup is a
Caldwell Rock BR Competition Front Shooting Rest and Caldwell Deluxe Universal Rear Bag?

I figure as I learn more and if I get better I can always buy better, but is this middle of the road enough to start? I know I am learning to walk here but is this good enough? I have seen the $500+ setups at the local ranges, and I need to learn a lot to justify those setups right now.

I want a steady platform to zero and to shoot at 25yrds and 50yrds to start.

Any help would be appreciated.
So far I have been shooting standing or sitting and just understanding the rifle.

· Premium Member
58,294 Posts
At the risk of being labeled an elitist again, the Caldwell rest will get you started but if you can afford them go ahead and get Protektor bags front and rear, they'll cost more but be with you the rest of your life. JMO.

· Registered
1,002 Posts