Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
  • Beware of Scammers! Does it sound too good to be true? New user has just what you were looking for? Don't get scammed! When in doubt, use escrow.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Tikka T1x on order so I'm try to purchase ammo ahead of its arrival so I can try and find a brand and type that it prefers. I'm new at this so I would like some ideas on the types and brands to try. I have a pretty good idea on brands but other things such as what bullet weight, bullet speed, codes such as LRN, PRN,HPSS, and many more. Is there anywhere I can get the translation for these such as LRN=Lead round nose, and the others? If possible be as specific with your recommended ammo as you can. I would rather have one specific recommendation than 10 that say try Norma, try Lapua, without the bullet type and weight it won't help a newbie like me!

· Registered
434 Posts
I have a Tikka T1x on order so I'm try to purchase ammo ahead of its arrival so I can try and find a brand and type that it prefers. I'm new at this so I would like some ideas on the types and brands to try. I have a pretty good idea on brands but other things such as what bullet weight, bullet speed, codes such as LRN, PRN,HPSS, and many more. Is there anywhere I can get the translation for these such as LRN=Lead round nose, and the others? If possible be as specific with your recommended ammo as you can. I would rather have one specific recommendation than 10 that say try Norma, try Lapua, without the bullet type and weight it won't help a newbie like me!
Just one? Well, I'd say Eley Tenex will give you a very good chance of finding what you need. IMO, however, you will need to try different lots of Tenex to find the one that is the best.
I shoot PRS with a guy who shoots a T1X; he shoots SK Red all the time and does very well. (sorry; could'nt keep it at just ONE)

· Registered
520 Posts