Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
G'day! I was hoping any of you guys could me tune my 22lr. I have a Fieldman Naughton which is Australian made and very similar to a Ruger bolt-action. The trigger has adjustment for creep and pressure which i have altered both but I would still like to wringe a little more out of it if i could. The gun itself has a 161/2 inch barrel made of aluminium with a steel sleeve. the barrel is of the same size as most varmint barrels if not a little thicker so i can only think of bedding?,or something similar. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
793 Posts
please define "problems". what group size at what range? what ammo types/brands have you experimented with? glass or iron sights?
i'm no expert but finding an ammo type and brand your rifle prefers can be half the battle. i think this is due to subtle variations in case rim thickness among various brands/types/lots which results in better or poorer fit to a particular rifles' chamber/headspace dimensions. i do know that there is something called a rimfire case gauge that allows a shooter to sort ammo by rim thickness.

·
Registered
2,833 Posts
G'day Aussie. I'm not familiar with that particular rifle, but I discovered yesterday that my CZ is sensitive to where the forend is sitting on the bags. Moved the rest a couple of inches too far back and accuracy went away :(
Just something you might want to consider.
Paul

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cheatermk3