Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after hitting the range yesterday I'm a bit concerned with my rifle accuracy. I'm maxed out on Elevation and windage on my scope and I'm exactly 2" low and 3" left at 25 yards. I know I can eak some more of each out of the inserts on the rings but that seems like a lot to be off(granted I'm rather new to setting up a scope).

Am I just being antzy or do I have something major to be concerned about?

I should note however that this thing groups excellent(haven't measured but have had 8 shots through the same hole)

The only other thing I can think might be throwing it off is that I used the VQ bedding kit and used both pads upfront instead of one(because with either pad seperatly allowed the action to moving). So I may have to glass bed the action.

·
Registered
618 Posts
How about a little more info, like....

What base are you using?
Are you using high or medium Burris Signature Zee Rings?
Which offset inserts are you using: front? back?
At what distance did you first boresight rifle?
Did you set scope settings to neutral before you began?
How much clearance between front bell of scope and barrel?
What type of stock do you have?

After all, this is not the psychic hotline. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
87 Posts
I suggest you get and insert kit if you have not gotten one and try it.

I was way low with my new 800116 on my Weaver T09 base with Weaver rings. After filing the receiver top to relive the hump and using high velocity ammo I was still 4” low at 25 yards with the elevation maxed.

I received advice here to get a Power Custom base and Burris Signature Zee rings with an insert kit. I whined about the cost but after deliberating decided to break down and spent the money for the base, rings, and inserts.