Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm extremely new to this. Please don't kill me for asking a question that I'm sure has already been asked (but I was unable to find using a search).

I am interested in getting a small caliber rifle for target shooting, varmint sniping, and just having fun. And maybe if I have kids someday, something that could be fun to teach them on.

From what little I've found on the internet so far, I think that I like the .17HMR more than the .17HM2.

I am also interested in a .22LR.

What are the pros and cons of each? From what I've found, the .22LR is easier to obtain and more common than the .17HMR, however the .17HRM has a longer effective range than the .22LR?

I'm not necessarily looking for a specific rifle right now (although I do have a few models in mind), I'm looking for more of a, "why choose this one over that one?"

Thoughts? Input?

I'll be honest, I will be putting a scope on it. I would also like to add a bi-pod and suppressor to make it more of a relaxing experience. I know that a lot of people would frown on this, but I do enjoy the comfort all of this can provide.

Thank you very much for your time and understanding.

PS ~ I'm a noob when it comes to weapon terminology and knowledge. So if you want to "break it down shotgun style" for me, it would be greatly appreciated.
Chuck

·
Registered
963 Posts
You didn't convey whether you own any other firearms... you implied that you own no rifles, but haven't shared what sort of knowledge you have with rifles.