Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

.22 LR prices

1036 9
I am new to target shooting with my 10/22, how much difference is there in price between regular stuff and match ammo?
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
1,095 Posts
hehehehe..how much money ya got??????

There can be a HUGE diff in the prices of "regular" ammo and match grade ammo, just as a cavalier may cost ya 9 g's, and a lexus will run ya 34 g's.

It all depends on what yer willing to spend

regular ammo...avg 10 to 14 bucks a brick, match ammo 20 something and up (alot of up!!)

:D

·
Registered
615 Posts
Most match ammo will cost you $5 to $10 a box. But Wolf MT will shoot just about as well as the higher priced stuff, and costs less than $2 a box. I shoot a lot of Wolf, as well as Lapua and Eley, and there's not much difference at all. There is a difference, mind you, but it's not significant except under serious match conditions.

·
Registered
16,533 Posts
I'd suggest that if you are having a lot of misfire problems with different ammo's, that you should take a close look at the gun.

Misfires happen now and then. but if your ignition system is good on the gun, they should be far and few between...

Ron

·
Registered
364 Posts
ATA, this is a frequent question, and a good one.

To me, there are three classes of ammo, 1) cheap bulk 2) medium and 3) expensive.

Cheap bulk is about $8 for 500 rounds, bullets are not in 50 round boxes. This stuff is ok for plinking, but if you have a good rifle and scope, on targets at 50 yds., you probably can't get it to group better than 2-4". I avoid this stuff. The only exception is Winchester Dynapoints sold only at K-Mart for $13 for 500, which is really good ammo.