Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need info from 1517 owners. What kind of groups are you getting? Also any tips on increasing accuracy would be appreciated. I am currently getting groups over 1" at 100 yds.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Does your scope have an adjustable objective? You can expect +/- half an inch vertical and horizontally if you can't adjust for paralax. Most scopes are focused from 100 to 150 yards without AO.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Ordie1,

I have limited experience w/ 17HMR, but know a little bit about the Anschutz. I have a 1517D MPR in the box (yet to be fired by me).

The Hornady 17HMR is sub-MOA (100yds) by design. If you had a box of ammo that all 50 rounds were within specs then they would all be capable to shoot sub-MOA.

Though the 1517 is a sporting rifle, if it is within specs it is capable to shoot sub-MOA (100yds). The number of rounds you can shoot in that group 3, 4, 5, 10 shot groups etc. depend a lot on your barrel. Examples, light sporter barrels tend to change POI as they heat up. Copper fouling build up tends to effect POI.

Your 1517 came from factory w/ stock removed from barreled action. It is always possible that your action is not properly seated in the stock. Your action screws should be snug. Most people find the sweet spot when they are torqued somewhere between 30 and 60 inch-pounds (depending on bare wood, bedding material or pillar bedding).

Your chamber, rifling and crown should be sufficient if within specs. The Anschutz barrel should only require minimum break in to burnish. As long as you haven't rounded the edge of the rifling or damaged the crown it should shoot well.

Even if the factory trigger was not perfectly adjusted to your personal preference, as long as it is within out of the door factory specs it should break well.