Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My sons Ruger 10/22 Missfires (gives a soft hit) out of 10 it will misfire on two or three, CCI Mini mags (solid and hollow points) Remington Golden hollow points and Federals all hit soft. The only bullets that works without any problems are CCI Blazers. I've had lots of Ruger 10/22's over the years and never had this happen with any one that I had. Can anybody give me any advice on how to fix it. It's a new gun and I always clean it after every time we shoot it. I have read the other threds on this subject and I think that maybe that I might need to re-stake it or pin it to limit the pin travel. Any comments?

·
Registered
54 Posts
I'm a newbie here too but I'll suggest that you check to see if the bolt is closing fully. The extractor can get stopped short if the barrel cut-out is dirty. Try using a toothpick to dig out any fouling.

Also, check to see that the bolt seats flush with the barrel.

If you've had the hammer spring out (or even if you didn't) you might check to verify that the groove in the spring retainer is pointing up, not down.

Did the rifle misfire out of the box or did it run OK for a while?

WW

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
10/22 misfireing

Winston, Thanks for the input I just finished putting the 10/22 back together, the bolt seams to be closeing all the way. Its looks to be very clean and with no visable fouling. The only thing that I notice on it is that it seams to be sloppy from side to side.
The hammer spring was upside down and was not in the center of the hammer strut washer, I corrected all of these things and I will try it this weekend. P.S It misfired from day one, I just bought it new last Christmas.

·
Registered
287 Posts
Did you clean it before the 1st shooting?