917VS Splitting Casings - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-07-2005, 05:01 PM
Send Help!!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
917VS Splitting Casings

On the rare occasion my hummer would split casings. The gun has only had about 150 to 200 rounds out of it so I am still tinkering with different ammos. This was with either remington or CCI ammo (I was shooting both to see which my gun prefered). I have been using Hornady now and have not noticed a split casing. My gun dealer told me it could be the ammo, but I have my doubts. I am relatively new to guns (only been shooting about 3 years) and I thought that once the round was loaded into the breach, the barrel would fit almost perfectly if not completely perfectly snug against the casing to prevent this.

Here is what it is doing:
I do not have a digital camera or I would be glad to post a pic. Imagine a shell sitting vertically. It would split the casing from the crimp to the part where the bottleneck begins to grow to the full diameter. This crack was vertical. It was like some of the blast was blowing out the side. Anyone know what the problem may be??? Hopefully it was just the ammo, since I haven't noticed it doing it anymore.

Please give your input, I appreciate it.
Old 02-07-2005, 05:28 PM
quickdtoo
US Army Veteran

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
There are already a few threads on this subject, do a search on split cases and you'll see em.
Old 02-07-2005, 06:25 PM
mike249

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Try this one. It has a good photo.
https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums...ht=split+cases

I have also had several split cases. I don't think it really is anything other than a weak point in the HMR cases.
I haven't heard if anyone has had this prob with the HM2..
I don't worry about it now, but the first time I saw a split case, I thought I had something wrong with my chamber.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2005, 07:13 PM
ice
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!