Help with the Russian world of rimfire ... CM2 from CDNN, CIA or MT Guns vs MkII FVT - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 06-24-2008, 11:51 PM
benzy2
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
Help with the Russian world of rimfire

Im new to this section of RFC but not to RFC itself. I have a handful of rimfire rifles and am looking to enter into a new section that I haven't shot before. I am looking to pick up a rifle that is equipped with aperture sights and would like to try prone shooting, plinking some steel targets, and also a bit of iron sight bench rest.

My initial thought was the Savage MK I FVT which is their single shot heavy barrel model with Williams sights on it. The local store has one in and it isn't at a terrible price at $315. Personally though that gun fills nothing for me but potentially the plinking. The plastic stock is pure junk and would need replaced which if I am looking for a prone stock it will be a bit hard to find one with a rail in it. I also am a bit turned off with their receiver build quality and their pinned barrels. It just seems cheap to me and isn't the quality I am hoping for.

I have two CZs right now that I LOVE. The one wears a fairly high powered scope and is a BLAST to shoot from a bench. It won't win me any competitions but it sure will knock shotgun hulls over at 100 yards which is good enough for me and my budget. The other is their trainer model which has great iron sights for hunting and maybe plinking but beyond that they really are still on the crude side, well the non-precise side. My next thought was to pick up a set of aperture sights for it which I still may do as they only seem to run about $100 if I remember right. Not terrible but I love the idea of getting another rifle instead of parts for a current rifle.