Anyone else ? Takes forever for RFC to load up. - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:26 PM
buckweet's Avatar
buckweet is online now
US Navy Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2006
Location: 
missouri
Posts: 
5,273
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Anyone else ? Takes forever for RFC to load up.



Log in to see fewer ads
Wondering why it super slow.
Other sites load really fast.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:52 PM
LtCrunch's Avatar
LtCrunch
US Marines NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Oct 2015
Location: 
Colorado
Posts: 
1,847
TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
Working fine here Buckweet. Try shutting down your pc/laptop/i-pad/phone and then restarting it.

Might help.

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2020, 02:02 PM
laylow

Join Date: 
Feb 2007
Location: 
Colorado
Posts: 
91
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Running normally here.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-2020, 03:38 PM
skwerl457's Avatar
skwerl457

Join Date: 
Jun 2019
Location: 
Okanagan Valley B.C. Canada
Posts: 
86
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Ironic , I was just refreshing the third time waiting to load wondering why RFC is sooo slooow.... Well subscribed ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2020, 03:44 PM
skwerl457's Avatar
skwerl457

Join Date: 
Jun 2019
Location: 
Okanagan Valley B.C. Canada
Posts: 
86
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Ironic , I was just refreshing the third time waiting to load wondering why RFC is sooo slooow.... Well subscribed ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2020, 05:08 PM
'ol shooter's Avatar
'ol shooter
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

Join Date: 
Oct 2010
Location: 
So Cal
Posts: 
8,928
TPC Rating: 
100% (127)
Have you installed Adblock Plus yet? I had lots of issues with RFC a few years back before I found and installed it. Right now it's blocking 5 adware hits in this very thread, and many more on the main page. You can blame the owners of the site for allowing it, I suppose, but the easy way out is installing the blocking app. RFC loads like snapping my fingers.
__________________
Bob B.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2020, 07:27 PM
Al the Infidel's Avatar
Al the Infidel
US Marines Disabled American Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jan 2007
Location: 
Yoopersville, MI
Posts: 
1,013,662
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
It was slow for a bit this a.m. but back to its regular normal now. RFC normal varies IME.
__________________
The better you are the more lucky you will be.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2020, 08:41 PM
skwerl457's Avatar
skwerl457

Join Date: 
Jun 2019
Location: 
Okanagan Valley B.C. Canada
Posts: 
86
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Ironic , I had just refreshed the page for the third time thinking ,does this take this long for everyone ? A - Yes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:56 AM
Arrowhead
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Feb 2006
Location: 
southeastern NM
Posts: 
2,726
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
This site has it's slow spells as does some others for me. Right now it's doing pretty good and I'm not saying anything more. I don't want to jinx it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2020, 01:24 PM
Test_Engineer

Join Date: 
Nov 2014
Location: 
On a Colorado glacier
Posts: 
2,080
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Don't know what browser others are using when they see slow loading, but my problem is with IE11. It's known to have a problem with memory leaks. The more background crap a site loads, the more likely it is to set off a memory consuming vortex.

When I visit RFC or Gmail, I just keep Task Manager open and minimized. I have it set to list highest memory at the top. A new IE window uses less than 400k and gradually goes higher as pages get loaded. When RFC pages start loading slow, that IE process is between 800k and 1.2G (and continuously growing as you watch). I just select that process and kill it.

A message pops up at the bottom saying something like "Explorer encountered a problem and had to restart". The page finishes loading just fine, memory use is small again, and the pages load very fast again.

Don't you just love MS?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-19-2020, 09:49 AM
Szumi's Avatar
Szumi
US Marines NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jun 2011
Location: 
Between Hell and Paradise
Posts: 
1,403
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I've been having random slow downs and total hangs. Firefox with ublock origin. Closing FF and restarting gets it working again.

I've opened chrome when FF seems stuck or slow and chrome works with lots of ads displayed. I *thought* that being a paying member reduced the amount of ads.
__________________

If you like your Constitution, you can keep your Constitution.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-19-2020, 10:09 AM
DGF is online now

Join Date: 
Dec 2016
Location: 
Ontario Canada
Posts: 
852
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Running an iPad. No problem, usual speed
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-19-2020, 11:58 PM
JohnTheFisherman
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2019
Posts: 
34
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I always use my phone. RFC is always slower than other pages in my experience, switching between forums, opening individual threads, posting, etc. wasn’t sure if it was the site’s compatibility with the phone or what. FWIW I always have to switch off the “enhanced mobile view” for best performance.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-25-2020, 10:01 PM
buckweet's Avatar
buckweet is online now
US Navy Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2006
Location: 
missouri
Posts: 
5,273
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnTheFisherman View Post
I always use my phone. RFC is always slower than other pages in my experience, switching between forums, opening individual threads, posting, etc. wasn’t sure if it was the site’s compatibility with the phone or what. FWIW I always have to switch off the “enhanced mobile view” for best performance.


That's exactly what I have to do.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-26-2020, 12:05 AM
Gizzy's Avatar
Gizzy
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2006
Location: 
Ohio
Posts: 
18,147
TPC Rating: 
100% (149)
I use my PC and Firefox, and it runs just as fast as everything else. I have had issues in the past with using IE, so I stopped using that about 10 years ago.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x