Barrel nut on new RPRF loose from factory - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2019, 04:44 PM
c.w.moss's Avatar
c.w.moss
National Guard Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jun 2006
Location: 
Texas
Posts: 
200
TPC Rating: 
100% (4)
Barrel nut on new RPRF loose from factory



Log in to see fewer ads
Got this rifle about a week ago, mounted up a scope and shot enough to get on paper, looked pretty good. The wind was very high so I quit. One thing I did notice was the handguard was not tight, it had a little movement, so I loosened and retightened the two screws. Seemed to be OK, no more movement, I thought. The screws were tight, but you could still twist the handguard. So I decided to remove the handguard. What was causing the little bit of movement was the barrel nut not tightened properly. I unscrewed it by hand. Came here to the forum to find out the torque the nut needed to be. Fixing to go back together with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2019, 07:19 PM
Gmww
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Sep 2012
Location: 
Wa.
Posts: 
679
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Early on I couldn't find the specs either. I found this video and this fella is torquing it at 30-40 ft/lbs. I just do 30 ft/lbs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoeM4B1wxJg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2019, 07:35 PM
Gmww
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Sep 2012
Location: 
Wa.
Posts: 
679
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I also found my barrel nut needs a 30mm wrench to loosen. When I tighten I found a claw foot 1 3/16" wrench that works with my torque wrench.

https://www.mentium-usa.com/collecti...1-3-16-30-16mm
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-2019, 08:12 PM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
south central WI, USA
Posts: 
3,491
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Just a FWIW, when a 'crowfoot', or any addition to a torque wrench extends its 'reach' the wrench exerts more torque than what it reads/is set at. The correction is mathmatical.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2019, 08:34 PM
Gmww
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Sep 2012
Location: 
Wa.
Posts: 
679
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcrank1 View Post
Just a FWIW, when a 'crowfoot', or any addition to a torque wrench extends its 'reach' the wrench exerts more torque than what it reads/is set at. The correction is mathmatical.
Good to know. Makes me feel better about using the 30 ft/lbs vs the 40 ft/lbs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2019, 07:15 AM
AveragEd's Avatar
AveragEd
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Oct 2016
Location: 
Enola, Pennsylvania
Posts: 
137
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
When I changed the barrel on my rifle, I will guarantee that the barrel nut was tightened well beyond 40 lb/ft at the factory - I had to really work to loosen it with the rifle in a gun vice. I watched a video on changing barrels on that rifle and the use of a torque wrench wasn't mentioned (possibly because the author didn't have a 1-3/16" crowfoot socket?).

I had to do some scrounging to find a combination wrench that size. Harbor Freight and Home Depot don't stock that size and just by dumb luck I found a very dusty one in a drawer under Lowe's wrench display. An employee there said they didn't have that size but when I showed him that his store's website indicated that they had one - just one - he dug around and found it.

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2019, 09:10 AM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
south central WI, USA
Posts: 
3,491
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Btw, never use a torque wrench to remove something, only to tighten on assembly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2019, 10:37 AM
c.w.moss's Avatar
c.w.moss
National Guard Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jun 2006
Location: 
Texas
Posts: 
200
TPC Rating: 
100% (4)
The setting I found on the forum was 35ftlbs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2019, 01:04 PM
72coupe
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Sep 2006
Location: 
Iowa Park, Texas
Posts: 
1,203
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Mine was certainly not loose. I used a Crescent wrench to remove and reinstall.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x