Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-26-2017, 11:15 AM
Nick7274
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

TPC Rating: 
100% (11)
Titan stock

I just received my second Titan 10/22 stock in the mail the other day. My first one was a perfect drop in solid fit with no adjustments needed. This one however is not the same story. I have a Ruger receiver with Kidd bolt and trigger, and a Fedderson 16 1/2" barrel. I dropped it in and tightened the action screw. I picked it up and the barreled action was literally flopping all over the place. I used the rear anchor per instructions until I had no more up and down movement. The problem is I still have a considerable amount of side to side movement. The instructions don't give an explanation on how to fix this and I am far from an expert when it comes to stocks. At this point there is so much movement the gun would be unshootable. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I love the stock and would like to keep it if I can get it fixed.
Old 02-26-2017, 12:36 PM
PJD642
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
I had the same experience - I've got two Titan stocks, one housing a Kidd receiver and barrel with rear anchor, and the second housing a Ruger receiver with a GM barrel threaded into the receiver by CPC.

The Kidd receiver fits like a (tight) glove, and once everything is hand tightened there is zero movement anywhere. The Ruger receiver, OTOH, moved side-to-side as well as teeter-tottered. The side-to-side was fixed with a few strips of aluminum tape along the sides of the receiver. The front-to-back was solved via a small piece of innertube about 3 inches in front of the receiver bolt, coupled with the adjustment screw in the anchor-filler piece.