Ruger Standard Problems - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-01-2019, 01:15 PM
Jenkkimike

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Ruger Standard Problems

I have a mid/late 70s Ruger Standard that is giving me problems. I'm pretty new to shooting in general and rimfires specifically so I come here seeking your collective wisdom.

The past dozen or so times I have shot indoors and it has performed flawlessly with the two original 9 round magazines with the metal bottom. I recently picked up two OEM Ruger Mark II 10 round magazines with the plastic bottoms and they have also worked pretty well but were very difficult to remove from the gun because the plastic piece was catching on the magazine extension.

This past weekend I installed a Ranch Products magazine extension and took it to the outdoor range today. The temperature was around 19 F.

Here is what happened:

1. The 9 round magazines worked fine for the most part

2. The 9 round magazines were more difficult to remove with the Ranch products magazine release than they were with the original.

3. When using the 10 round magazines, every few shots I would pull the trigger and nothing would happen. A round was chambered but would not fire or eject. If I dropped the magazine I could usually get the chambered round to fire OR eject it but only after two or three pulls on the bolt.

4. I did have the above situation happen once with a 9 round magazine, but for the most part they would perform fine. I was not able to even get through a 10 round magazine without the above situation happening every 2 or 3 shots.

Did I mess things up with the installation of the new magazine release or were the low temperatures causing problems? Or both? I am ready to sell these 10 round Mark II magazines because they've been nothing but trouble.
Old 02-01-2019, 02:22 PM
arjay

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)