Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Scope help needed

49K views 44 replies 27 participants last post by  janejskelton 
#1 ·
Hey yall. I have a H&R Sportster .22WMR that I am interested in scoping. However, I have little experience with scopes, with the exception of using one or 2 scoped rifles that were already sighted in. I have no clue how exactly to work with a scope, as far as sighting it in is concerned. I understand that one adjustment knob is used to windage and the other for elevation, but know little about about scopes, there power, etc. If someone could run me through the basics and recommend a good scope I would appreciate it.

#2 · (Edited)
Yep, scopes are their own arcane science. First the nomenclature...

Scopes are typically described with something like 2-7x28mm. The numbers in front of the "x" show the magnification level of the scope. If there is only one number it is a fixed power scope. If there are two numbers in front of the "x" separated by a dash it is a variable power scope with the numbers giving the lowest and highest magnification levels. So 2-7x28mm is a 2 to 7 power scope with a 28mm objective lens. The ring that adjusts from one magnification level to another is usually at the end of the scope nearest to your eye.

The number to the right of the "x" is the diameter of the objective lens. As a general rule, bigger lenses give you brighter, clearer images. There is a break even point where the extra size adds little. That break even point is about 44mm so you don't need anything wider than that. How much smaller than 44mm it can be is related to the magnification level of the scope because of a factor called "exit pupil."