Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Struggling and need help. Is 36x too powerful?

2K views 25 replies 18 participants last post by  Nick7274 
#1 ·
Hi all. Hope everyone is well. I have been setting my Annie 1416 up, and I installed a Weaver T36 on it.

For the time being, I am using it at 50 yards. I am new to this type of shooting, and my eyes are good, but not great anymore. I shoot groups of.375-.450 ( 5 shot)

I am using targets with 10 targets per page. By the 6th or 7th target ( plus 1 or 2 sighter groups) my eye feels fatigued and struggles to focus.

I am shooting almost as well with my CZ 455 and a cheap 4-16 scope. Not as well but close. The 4-16 doesn't fatigue my eye though.

I don't expect to stretch out to 100 yds anytime soon, but eventually I will.

I am considering putting the cheap scope on the Annie just to see if it improves with less power, but hate the idea of having to set both scopes again when I finish.

As I said, I am new to BR shooting, and being my club is at minimal capacity, I cant ask local members for help.

I guess I am asking is 36x too powerful for 50 yards? Will it fatigue my eye less at 100 yards?

Thank you for any help or insight you can provide.

See less See more
#2 ·
Brother Redlightrich; As far as 36,s go Weaver in good. Try shooting mid day or when it's bright out. Make sure you focus both ends to get it perfect. Might try making sure both eyes are open also. 36 is probably the lower end of current benchrest trends, so no 36 isn't too much. Good luck Brother.

#3 ·
Dear Redlightrich:

As the previous poster stated, make sure that the reticle is focused using the rear adjustment on the rear lens, turning it in and out until the reticle becomes sharp and clear. Adjust the parallax on the objective lens while you are at it. A quick search in these forums will get you the instructions, pretty detailed and there are better descriptions then what I could provide.