Torque wrench recommendation needed. - Page 2 - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-31-2020, 09:45 AM
T0rtuga's Avatar
T0rtuga
Veteran

Join Date: 
Jan 2014
Posts: 
63
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)


Log in to see fewer ads
Quote:
Originally Posted by FNG2019 View Post
I agree the FAT may be the answer, but my hands won't like me.
Maybe a breakaway coaster would help the ergonomics of the FAT wrench for you.
You might have to do something like glue or add a piece of rubber for friction to avoid slipping at higher torque settings. They are all over Amazon and eBay.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nbreakawaycoaster.jpg (148.6 KB, 128 views)
File Type: jpg lever09.jpg (332.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: png s-l500.png (228.4 KB, 128 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-02-2020, 11:56 AM
FNG2019

Join Date: 
Oct 2019
Posts: 
13
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Thanks, that is something I will definitely check out.

On an aside, so much for Ruger getting back to you within three business days of their form. Currently on day eight I think.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-02-2020, 12:38 PM
T0rtuga's Avatar
T0rtuga
Veteran

Join Date: 
Jan 2014
Posts: 
63
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FNG2019 View Post
Hey Smooth,
I have a Ruger American in 7.62x39 which recommends a torque (when reassembling after cleaning, adjusting the trigger, what have you) of 60-80, which is the problem.
I've sent Ruger a request to specify a bit more, as my uneducated thought on the matter is, "Isn't that a large range for something supposed to be quite specific?"
I would not get too hung up on that torque value. 70 +/-10 in.lb is not a huge spread. When I was wrenching on ejection seats, most of the torque settings were +/- 5 in.lb, and that's for cartridge actuated devices (CADS), ballistic lines and the like. Heck, the torque range on the barrel nut for AR platforms is around 30-80 ft. lb.

If I were not limited by the tool, I would only set to 70in.lb instead of the max, so if I were limited to 65 in.lb, I would not hesitate to set it and call it good.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-03-2020, 07:20 PM
10X1958

Join Date: 
Sep 2011
Posts: 
109
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Try the Fix-It-Sticks. They make a great product and provide great customer service.

I've been using their torque limiter for several years now. They've been great tools.

https://store.fixitsticks.com/collections/all-shooting
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-04-2020, 06:52 PM
FNG2019

Join Date: 
Oct 2019
Posts: 
13
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rtuga View Post
I would not get too hung up on that torque value. 70 +/-10 in.lb is not a huge spread. When I was wrenching on ejection seats, most of the torque settings were +/- 5 in.lb, and that's for cartridge actuated devices (CADS), ballistic lines and the like. Heck, the torque range on the barrel nut for AR platforms is around 30-80 ft. lb.

If I were not limited by the tool, I would only set to 70in.lb instead of the max, so if I were limited to 65 in.lb, I would not hesitate to set it and call it good.
You actually hit the nail on the head. Ruger finally responded, and the torque value is 70 +/- 10. They also said I could use allen wrenches (I had asked for a torque wrench recommendation just for the heck of it), so that's a little extra knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-08-2020, 07:01 AM
10X1958

Join Date: 
Sep 2011
Posts: 
109
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I've been using Fix-It-Sticks for several years now and have been very satisfied with their products.

https://store.fixitsticks.com/collections/all-shooting

Last edited by 10X1958; 06-08-2020 at 07:02 AM. Reason: error
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-14-2020, 06:20 PM
FNG2019

Join Date: 
Oct 2019
Posts: 
13
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10X1958 View Post
I've been using Fix-It-Sticks for several years now and have been very satisfied with their products.

https://store.fixitsticks.com/collections/all-shooting
I checked them out, seems I would need just the one limiter and can use my own wrench, or am I reading that incorrectly?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-23-2020, 07:01 AM
10X1958

Join Date: 
Sep 2011
Posts: 
109
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FNG2019 View Post
I checked them out, seems I would need just the one limiter and can use my own wrench, or am I reading that incorrectly?
You could use your own wrench. However, their kits and other accessories are of excellent quality. I like them because they fit in a nice pouch that goes nicely in my gun box or range bag.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x