Run out of vertical scope adjustment - Page 2 - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-02-2021, 10:39 AM
Toomany22s's Avatar
Toomany22s is online now
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Sep 2017
Location: 
Hoosierville
Posts: 
8,451
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)


Log in to see fewer ads
Quote:
Originally Posted by theLBC View Post
i am going to summarize in case i don't have it right.

he is at 50 yards and his impacts are a few inches above his point of aim.
he says he has "run out of elevation" on the scope.

i think he might be dialing up (raising elevation) instead of down (raising the reticle). i don't see how he could run out of elevation on the scope, so either he is dialing the wrong direction or there is some detail we are missing since i doubt 2 scopes are bad. it would help to know how much he can dial in the other direction.

i heard that Leico scopes might dial in the opposite direction (clockwise to move in impact up instead of down) but i have never seen one.
I dont think hes shot the gun. Hes in his basement setting up his scope.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-02-2021, 05:35 PM
FlysAlot's Avatar
FlysAlot

Moderator
Join Date: 
Jul 2003
Location: 
Stuck at FL410 :-(
Posts: 
13,061
TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
WELCOME TO RFC!

I think a nice tac-sol 20 moa mount is a good and easy way to check things out. I run 20's on most of my stuff.
__________________
“Despotic power is always accompanied by corruption of morality.”
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-02-2021, 07:05 PM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
South Central WI, USA
Posts: 
4,809
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
When you 'lock the gun in', take a shot and adjust the scope to the poi you go opposite 'normal' the adjustment you would use
if taking a shot and moving the adjusters in the direction you want The Bullet to go.
The 'last resort' when all logic seems to fail is to actually shoot the thing like normal and turn the adjuster(s) both directions watching the poi track on the paper.
Then ya know for sure and certain.

Last edited by gcrank1; 08-03-2021 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-02-2021, 07:17 PM
theLBC

Join Date: 
Jul 2017
Posts: 
108
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
looks like some of their turrets are "backwards".

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-05-2021, 07:54 PM
LAairhunter

Join Date: 
Aug 2021
Posts: 
9
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toomany22s View Post
I dont think hes shot the gun. Hes in his basement setting up his scope.
No, I was actually shooting it at the range. I had the gun somewhat strapped down, shot at 50 yards, and then dialed the POA to the POI. However, I ran out of vertical travel.

The odd thing to me is that nothing about the set-up is out-of-the-ordinary. It's a rimfire scope, mounted directly to the gun's picatinny rail (which, in turn, is milled in to the receiver). The scope is fairly close to the bore. The mounts are LaRue mounts with delrin inserts (to take the 30mm mount to 1"). It's a mount system that I've used on prior rimfire guns. The guns are brand new, Tactical Solution Take Down guns.

Anyone else with ideas? Is there an easy way to post a pic on here? I ask as maybe a pic would show something to y'all that I'm missing in terms of my set-up.

M
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-05-2021, 08:15 PM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
South Central WI, USA
Posts: 
4,809
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Forget about the 'somewhat strapping it down' and just shoot it, adjust and see what you get. All this airchair speculating is wasting shooting time!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-05-2021, 08:38 PM
theLBC

Join Date: 
Jul 2017
Posts: 
108
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
at least some of those model rifles have 15moa rails, so you should have more elevation than normal, not less. i still think something is backwards. if you dial the complete opposite direction that you have been dialing, are your impacts even lower?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-06-2021, 10:33 AM
VaFish
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jun 2002
Posts: 
972
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
So from what I am reading you have a set of 30MM scope rings with derlin inserts to mount a 1" scope?

First thing I would try is removing the inserts and either flip one of them 180 degrees so the top is now the bottom. Or I would swap them front to back.

The other thing to try is a set of 1" rings and get rid of the inserts.

Last edited by VaFish; 08-06-2021 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-06-2021, 12:14 PM
GladesGuy's Avatar
GladesGuy
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Mar 2013
Location: 
So. Fla.
Posts: 
4,007
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaFish View Post
So from what I am reading you have a set of 30MM scope rings with derlin inserts to mount a 1" scope?

First thing I would try is removing the inserts and either flip one of them 180 degrees so the top is now the bottom. Or I would swap them front to back.

The other thing to try is a set of 1" rings and get rid of the inserts.
I agree!!!!!! Just swap out to regular 1" rings.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x