Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

17gr TNT, your experience with expansion.

3K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  dgeesaman 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I've been finding that both mine and my girlfriend's rifles both shoot the TNT bullets more accurately than the plastic tipped ones. We've shot bricks and bricks of both so we have a pretty good sampling. Any how I know all non-winchester ammo is rebranded CCI so I'll address the bullet types only. I have limited hunting experience with the 17 hmr and I'm considering bringing them on Prarie dog trip to supplement our 223s at closer ranges. I'm particularly interested in the ranges the TNT still grenade inside the critter. What is your hunting experience with them at longer ranges?Say 150 yards give or take

#3 ·
I took both ammo types on a prairie dog hunt last year and killed about 100+ dogs, roughly half with TNT and half with V-Max. At the range the TNT was slightly more accurate, but there was no noticeable difference on my hunt. Both had great terminal performance out to 125 yds. The dogs dropped on the spot with solid hits. I don't shoot the 17HMR at 150+ yd dogs because my .223 and .204 are much more reliable and I miss too often with the HMR at longer distance, wind being a constant factor on the prairie. When the wind comes up I can still hit dogs with the HMR at shorter distances, (75-100 yds) depending wind characteristics and direction, but not at longer ranges.
By the way, I just returned from a hunt where I killed 201 dogs, 150 of them with 17HMR 17gr V-Max. I'm shooting 2 HMR rifles, an Anschutz 1517MPR and a Sako FinnFire II. I had shoulder surgery last year, so shooting with the HMR is preferable to rifles with stronger recoil. Consequently I tend to push the HMR to it's limits rather than bear the recoil.

#4 ·
17gr TNT, your experienc